Show Menu

ACVAA 2018 News

Opioid-Sparing Pain Therapy in Animals: Working Task Force

Added 11 Dec 2018

The following white paper is the result of a special session at the 5th International Veterinary Pain Short Course on pain, pain mechanisms and novel therapies in veterinary medicine held on August 22-25, 2018 in San Diego, CA. The organizers of the meeting convened a multi-disciplinary panel composed of individuals with an interest in pain physiology, pain pathophysiology and veterinary pain therapeutics in order to prepare a “white paper” of reasonable approaches clinicians can take to reduce the use of opioids in veterinary practice. While these recommendations are referenced to research publications and public and government web sites they are not the product of a formalized review of randomized clinical trials associated with evidence based practice guidelines. Additionally, this document has not undergone a formal peer review process associated with scientific journal publication. As such, the document is meant to provide information and as a resource to help practicing veterinarians navigate opioid shortages and the opioid epidemic.

The American College of Veterinary Anesthesia and Analgesia did not produce this document, however, several ACVAA Diplomates contributed to its creation. In an effort to expedite the dissemination of this information the ACVAA has agreed to publish the document on its website at Requests for permission to reproduce text or figures should be directed to Dr. William Muir at

Click the link below to download the full white paper as a PDF file.

Opioid Sparing Pain Therapy in Animals Working Task Force Document

2018 ACVAA Foundation Resident Grant

Added 21 Sep 2018

Winners of the ACVAA Foundation Resident Grant for 2018 are Dr. Sarah Shane and Dr. Claudio Natalie, Mississippi State University for the project "Determination of Plasma Levels for Target Intravenous Continuous Rate Infusion and Repeated Intramuscular Administration of Dexmedetomidine in Standing Horses"

2018 Resident Smiths-Medical Abstract Award Winners

Added 21 Sep 2018

Winners of the ACVAA Resident abstract awards are: Dr. Kathryn Zatroch - College of Veterinary Medicine , Cornell University “Evaluation of Atipamezole as Treatment for Dexmedetomidine-Induced Cardiovascular Depression in Anesthetized Cats” (Small animal category) Dr. Kelley Varner — College of Veterinary Medicine, University of Pennsylvania "Efficacy of alveolar recruitment in anesthetized horses ventilated with Heliox or 30% Oxygen/70% Nitrogen” (Large animal/other category) Congratulations Drs. Zatrich and Varner !

2018 Annual Business Meeting Presentation Dr. Egger

Added 20 Sep 2018

see Powerpoint Presentation under 'Diplomates' 'Documents and Forms'

2018 President's Award for Meritorious Service to the ACVAA

Added 20 Sep 2018

In 2017 the ACVAA Board of Directors has initiated an award to recognize a Diplomate for outstanding service to the ACVAA . A nominee for this award plays a dominant role in promoting, growing, and strengthening the ACVAA, and its membership. The ACVAA recognizes Dr. Doris Dyson for years of tireless organizational and technical work on the ACVAA certifying examination. Congratulations, Dr. Dyson !

2018 Career Achievement Award

Added 20 Sep 2018

The American College of Veterinary Anesthesia and Analgesia (ACVAA) Career Achievement Award recognizes a Diplomate for accomplishments throughout a long career of outstanding performance in advancing the art and science of veterinary anesthesia and/or analgesia. The award is made on the basis of accomplishments throughout a career distinguished by sustained, significant contributions to education, research and/or service in veterinary anesthesia and analgesia, including service to the ACVAA. The recipient, acknowledged by academicians, professional peers and the general veterinary community, in a fundamental way, has advanced the field of veterinary anesthesia and/or analgesia with contributions that have stood the test of time. The ACVAA is proud to award the 2018 Career Achievement Award to Dr. Cynthia Trim Congratulations Dr. Trim !

Congratulations 2018 New Diplomates

Added 16 Sep 2018

Drs. Molly Allen, Barbara Ambros, Julie Balko, Chiara De Caro Carella Hampton, Lauren Duffee, Kristen Fizzano, Jennie Haan, Ayako Oda, Diego Portela, Denise Radkey, Rebecca Reader, Christopher Smith, Melissa Smith, Hilary Shipley, Alicia Skelding, Sharon Tenenbaum

ACVAA Foundation Research Grant

Added 01 May 2018

The Foundation of the American College of Veterinary Anesthesia and Analgesia (ACVAA), is pleased to announce its 2018 Research Grant Availability. A research proposal that is hypothesis driven, and centers on an aspect of anesthesia or pain management, will be selected for funding, for up to a total of $5,000 US. Proposed projects should have a trainee in an ACVAA-endorsed training program in either a PI or Co-PI position. The complete description of proposal guidelines can be found under Diplomates ( and Residents) Documents and Forms